Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
The Official Home of Massachusetts Maritime Athletics

Women's Crew Closes Out Fall Schedule With Solid Performance At Head Of The Fish Regatta

Women's Crew Closes Out Fall Schedule With Solid Performance At Head Of The Fish Regatta


Head of the Fish/Quinsigamond Novice Challenge Regattas

Saturday, October 29, 2011

Saratoga Springs, N.Y./Worcester, Mass.

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y./WORCESTER, Mass. --  Both Massachusetts Maritime crew teams wrapped up the fall portion of their respective 2011-12 schedules on Saturday in rain-soaked and raw conditions at the Head of the Fish Regatta and Quinsigamond Novice Challenge Regatta.

At the Head of the Fish Regatta, the women’s collegiate varsity four comprised of sophomore coxswain Lisa Burke (Hanson, Mass.), juniors Lauren Denapoli (Boston, Mass.) and Alicia Tarr (Danvers, Mass.), sophomore Amanda Tine (Chelmsford, Mass.) and freshman Elise LaBonte (Weymouth, Mass.) posted a time of 17:09 to place 28th overall in the competition, which was won by Williams.

The Buccaneer men had a pair of boats in the collegiate varsity four race, as the “A” boat comprised of freshman coxswain John Hubert (Trumbull, Conn.), juniors Josh Lamm (North Andover, Mass.), Matthew Mourey (Franklin, Mass.) and Devin McNeil (Westford, Mass.) and sophomore Alex Jagielski (Guilford, Conn.) placed 10th with a time of 16:11.3, while the “B” tandem of sophomore coxswain Matthew Lester (Monroe Township, N.J.), senior Mark Brien (Methuen, Mass.), sophomores Tyler Fifield (Wakefield, Mass.) and Andrew MacDonald (Franklin, Mass.) and freshman Ryan Gilliland (Barnstable, Mass.) finished 18th with a time of 17:46.7 in the competition, which was won by Bowdoin.

Massachusetts Maritime posted a 14th place finish at the Quinsigamond Novice Challenge Regatta, as the Buccaneer college novice eight squad comprised of senior coxswain Juan Rivas (Dorchester, Mass.), senior Sean O’Leary (East Falmouth, Mass.) and freshmen Moises Zebede-Roquer (Panama City, Panama), Thomas Jackson (Stoneham, Mass.), Joshua Leonardi (Sandwich, Mass.), Miles Farber (Chatham, Mass.), James Mattson (Marion, Mass.), Stephen Sweeney (West Roxbury, Mass.) and Mason Marconi (Freeland, Md.) notched a time of 19:37.2 in the event that was won by Holy Cross.

Both Buccaneer squads will begin the Spring 2012 portion of their schedules in late March.

Mass. Maritime Buccaneers101 Academy Drive. Buzzards Bay, MA 02532508-830-5049 Privacy Policy