Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
The Official Home of Massachusetts Maritime Athletics

Massachusetts Maritime Academy Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2020 Selected

Massachusetts Maritime Academy Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2020 Selected

BUZZARDS BAY, Mass – In late November the Massachusetts Maritime Academy Hall of Fame Committee voted on the Class of 2020 which will be inducted on Homecoming Weekend in September of 2020 following the Buccaneer football game against Maine Maritime Academy.

From a comprehensive list of contributors to the Department of Athletics and former student-athletes that were nominated by administrators, peers and many others, five new members of the Hall of Fame were selected. Included in the five new members are one contributor and four Alumni student-athletes. Below is a list of those individuals.

Chris Ryan – Contributor. 18-year Men's Cross Country Coach

Paul Scordato – 1979 Academy Graduate. Men's Lacrosse

Megan Campbell – 2005 Academy Graduate. Women's Rowing

Casey Ivatts – 2006 Academy Grad. Softball

EJ Bennett – 2015 Academy Graduate. Football

Chris Ryan (Contributor/Cross Country) – Chris coached the Maritime men's cross country team for 18 years, beginning in 1997. In his time as the head cross country coach he was named MASCAC Coach of the Year three times, coached his 2005 team to a MASCAC Championship and had six All-Conference/New England Alliance selections.

Paul Scordato (Men's Lacrosse) – Paul was a four year player on the Buccaneer men's lacrosse team from 1976-1979. He was a two-time captain of the team and voted team MVP in 1979. He was named a Colonial League All-Star twice, earned Colonial League MVP honors and an All-Colonial 1st Team selection in 1979 and was named to the New England Senior All-Star game to represent the Academy in 1979. He was also named All-League in his junior season in 1978.

Megan Campbell (Women's Crew) – Megan helped her team to a third place finish in the New Hampshire Championships while a member of the rowing team at the Academy. She was a team captain in her senior season and was named MMA Female Athlete of the Year in 2005.

Casey Ivatts (Softball) – Casey was a member of the sailing team and the softball team during her time at the Academy. She earned MASCAC softball All-Conference honors in each of her four seasons as a Buccaneer being named to the 1st team in 2004 and 2005 and the second team in 2003 and 2006. She was also named MMA Female Athlete of the Year in 2006.

EJ Bennett (Football) – Bennett played four years of football for the Buccaneers earning MASCAC All-Conference honors three times. He was named to the 1st team in 2013 and the second team in 2012 and 2014. He is the All-Time career leader at Maritime in career receptions and receiving yards while also holding the records for most receptions in a season, most receptions in a game, most receiving yards in a season and most receiving yards in a game by a Buccaneer.

The newest class of Hall of Fame members will be enshrined on Homecoming weekend 2020 following the Buccaneer football game against Maine Maritime. More information on the induction ceremony will be available at a later date.

For more information on the Massachusetts Maritime Hall of Fame and its current members please visit the Hall of Fame section of our website at

Mass. Maritime Buccaneers101 Academy Drive. Buzzards Bay, MA 02532508-830-5049 Privacy Policy